Tuesday, May 22, 2007

KUJH Awards

SPJ Mark of Excellence Awards
Winners in broadcast and online in the Society of Professional Journalists Mark of Excellence awards competition (Region 7) include the following from KUJH. Congratulations to all the winners.

Television General News Reporting
• Second Place: Lynzee Ford, University of Kansas, “Animal Masks”
• Third Place: Brianna Auza, University of Kansas, “Backpacks”

Television Feature
• First Place: Whitney Mathews, University of Kansas, “Competitive Eating”

Online Feature Reporting
• Second Place: Heather Brummitt and Heidi Fedak, University of Kansas, “Seniors dance to their health”

Online In-Depth Reporting
• First Place: Patrick Shehan and Matthew Goble, University of Kansas, “Drought affects Kansans”*

Online Sports Reporting
• First Place: James Pinick and Andrew Baker, University of Kansas, “Evolution of KU cheerleading"*

Online Opinion & Commentary
• Second Place: Heidi Fedak and Micahel Phillips, University of Kansas, “eHub”

Best Affiliated Web site
• Second Place: KUJH-TV Staff, University of Kansas, “tv.ku.edu”
* Originally produced as TV packages.